Mona Abaza Mona Abaza, MD, MS
University of Colorado School of Medicine, USA

Dr. Mona M. Abaza is a Professor and Vice Chair of Faculty Affairs and Diversity for the Department of Otolaryngology at the University of Colorado, School of Medicine.  A board certified and Laryngology fellowship trained Otolaryngologist, she received her medical degree from The Women’s Medical College of Pennsylvania (now Drexel University).  She completed her Otolaryngology residency at the University of Texas Health Sciences Center in San Antonio and then completed her Laryngology fellowship at Graduate Hospital and Jefferson Medical College in Philadelphia, PA. She maintains active interest in professional voice research as a peer-elected member of the International Association of Phonosurgeons, the American Bronch-esophagology Association, the Triological Society and the American Laryngological Association.   She is very active in medical education, completing a Master of Science in Higher Education at Drexel University School of Education in 2010.  She is a member of the University of Colorado School of Medicine’s Academy of Medical Educators and runs its Teaching Certificate Program.  She held the position of Associate Residency Program Director/Program Director for Otolaryngology for over 18 years, stepping down in 2018 to take the Vice Chair position.  She is the Past Chair of the Otolaryngology Program Director Organization (OPDO) and a second term Administrative Board member for the Council of Faculty and Academic Societies (CFAS) of the American Association of Medical Colleges (AAMC), where she chairs the Faculty Resilience Working Group. She also passionately works to improve women’s leadership development in her specialty and academic medicine as a whole.  She was a founding member of the governing council of the women’s section of her national academy, past-chair of the section and co-founder and director of a yearlong leadership development program for it, as well as an active faculty in University of Colorado’s Junior Women Faculty Development Program.